



A MESSAGE FROM OUR SUPERINTENDENT

Dear Linden Public Schools Colleagues,

Welcome back for the 2021-2022 school year! A year dedicated to Resilience, Recovery, and Realignment.

This year will be like none that any of us has faced before, as we and our students return from 18 months of COVID-19, remote learning, hybrid learning, contact tracing, and quarantine. By no means are we clear of the pandemic, but 2021-2022 will be about transitioning back to something closer to the world we knew before, fighting for a sense of normalcy even as we continue to contend with vaccines, masks, and even loss.

Today, we come together in celebration as a sign that we are ready to meet that challenge. I am looking forward to working alongside all of you to make this a successful and joyous school year for our students. Enjoy the day and come in next week rejuvenated and ready to inspire.

We are a family, and Linden Public Schools are our homes. Welcome, Home Again!

Carpe diem,

hemin Hogelton, Ed. D

Dr. Marnie Hazelton Superintendent of Schools



WELCOME! Linden High School Marching Band, Cheerleaders and ROTC

NATIONAL ANTHEM Sung by LHS senior Samantha Pugliese

WAKE UP EVERYBODY Sung by LHS senior Rashaan Billups

SPEAKERS

Dr. Marnie Hazelton Superintendent of Schools

■ Mayor Derek Armstead Mayor of Linden

Chief David Hart Linden Police Department

Kevin Thurston Linden Administrators and Supervisors Association

Eloy Delgado Linden Education Association

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Adam Fletcher

Adam F.C. Fletcher is an internationally recognized practitioner and researcher focused on Meaningful Student Involvement, and the executive director of Youth and Educators Succeeding. Adam studies, shares, and teaches others about student voice, student engagement, and system-wide school transformation. Adam is building a new vision for the future focused on powerful learning, empowered action, and transformative social change for all youth everywhere in all ways, always. https://www.yesk12.org/adam-fletcher









We honor those who have completed 25+ years of employment with the Linden Public Schools as of June 2021.

LINDEN TIGER RESILIENCY AWARDS

We celebrate one employee per building/department who has shown resiliency and remarkable strength. They are inspirational leaders to their teams and have shown what it takes to be "Tiger Strong."

TIGER BOWL

Cheer on your school in fun competitions throughout the morning. Water Balloon Toss, Finish the Lyrics, Linden Trivia, Football Kick, Three-Legged Race

MUSIC

DJ Mark DeCastro, McManus Middle School

FOOD

Thanks to: Applebee's Chick-Fil-A Pomptonian Food Service Wawa

FOR THEIR GENEROUS SUPPORT, WE THANK THE FOLLOWING:

Northfield Bank
Linden Education Association
Linden Administrators
Supervisors Association
Linden Housing Authority
Linden Housing Corp.
Phillips 66 Infineum
Meson Tropical
Linden PBA Local No. 42
Maki's Yard Cards & More
A&B Promotions



Cory A. Booker New Jersey



UNITED STATES SENATE WASHINGTON, D. C. 20510

September 3, 2021

Dr. Marnie Hazelton Linden Public Schools 2 East Gibbons Street Linden, New Jersey 07036

Dear Dr. Hazelton,

It is a pleasure to extend my warmest acknowledgment of the beginning of a new year at Linden Public Schools. After a year disrupted by the COVID-19 pandemic may the start of this school year be filled with new beginnings, excitement, and a return to a sense of normalcy.

Your teachers, staff, and students have overcome numerous obstacles over the past year, but are no doubt more resilient because of it. I wish you all the best of luck and look forward to a successful school year.

Sincerely,

Cory A. Booker United States Senator









ADMINISTRATION

Dr. Marnie Hazelton Superintendent of Schools

Denise Cleary Assistant Superintendent

Kathleen A. Gaylord Business Administrator/Board Secretary

> Dr. Karen Baldwin Human Resources Manager

BOARD OF EDUCATION

Carlos A. Rivas Board President

Samuel De La Cruz Jr. Board Vice President

Dr. Marlene Berghammer Jennifer Flemming Patrick Gargano Sheenaider Guillaume Marianthe Manganello Gregory R. Martucci Malaysia Thomas



HOME AGAIN 2021 ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Chairs Yelena Horré Michelle Rodriguez David Walker

Lead Members Rachelle Crawley Mark DeCastro Debra Giacalone Michael Firestone Dr. Marnie Hazelton Debra Heffernan-Louka Kelly Koziol Robert Kratzer Felicia Lambkin Matthew Lorenzetti Annabell Louis Gary Miller Kayla Miller Lawrence Miranda Suzanne Olivero Slawek Pajak Angela Paternostro Donna Popov Michael Samsel Laura Scamardella Isabella Scocozza Patricia Tartivita Terri Todd Steven Viana

Thank you to everyone, not listed, that contributed to the success of today's program.





